Badges, baby!

This may explain more of my psychology than I should share, but I love badges. Love them! I’m a total sucker for badge programs, which explains why I joined Mary Jane’s Farm girl Sisterhood and her plethora of badges for the things I already do. And the Fitbit badges telling me I’ve walked the length of Japan–those make me happy too.

Of course, my friends think I’m a dork, but I must not be as ridiculous as they think because Moda came out with fabulous merit badges equivalent to the size of Boy Scout merit badges, and I pretty much have to stop myself from buying all of them and slapping them on every coat or bag I own.

My favorite, though, are the Urban Threads badges because I can sew them myself, change the sizes, and are a little edgier than either MJ Farm girl or Moda. Here’s one I’m making for an Instagram friend who organized a year-long swap.

When my oldest daughter was between 10-13 years old, she used to make amazing little improv badges, and I sewed a few on my bags!

Lastly, I’ll end by saying badges are a tiny reason why I love Boy Scouts for my son. The program is excellent for building skills and character.  Albeit, some of their badges I’d never want…Wilderness Survival, no thank you. The truth is that at 14 he’s kind of over Scouts, but he’s too close to the end, and he only needs four more merit badges before that segment is done. And he just joined a new troop with more boys with similar interests, so fingers crossed that we’ll get him through. 

Have a great day, a go earn, buy, or make yourself a merit badge!

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Hand-stitching, Handmade, Sewing, Upcoming Sewing, What I Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Badges, baby!

  1. Verónica says:

    Oh, oh. You’re getting me hooked on those badges!

Leave a Reply

