Mindfully Back at It

IMG_5978I know, I know.  It’s been nine months…am I a serious blogger?  Probably not, but I’ve spent a good portion of the past months really thinking about mindfulness.

When I started this blog, it was a way for me to stay accountable to myself.  To say, “I finished this, so I can post it on the blog.”  And this was high motivation for me.  Big time.  Because at the time, my UFOs were getting a bit out of hand.  So I went through a major making period, challenging my personal time tables, and getting things DONE!  Boom!

And I loved it.  Or at least I thought I loved it.  I loved part of it.  I loved the projects that I loved, but there were a lot of projects that I finished just to finish.  I had lost my passion for some of those projects, but still slogged through them, grumbling and wondering what I was going to do with them.

Sometime in that process, I came to some realizations about craft and my time.  I read Marie Kondo’s book about tidying up, and she’s all about keeping only the things that “spark joy.”  And I had an “a ha!” moment.

I went through my fabric and donated boxes of it to charity.  I went through old projects, and sent them on their way too.

Now I try to practice mindful crafts.  Crafts I want to do because I’m passionate about them.  (Not because I feel obligated to use up supplies or make something).

And that’s where this blog is at the moment…swimming in the waters of crafty mindfulness trying to figure out which direction to go.  I think for now I’m going to buck all the “rules” of successful blogs that say you must have a theme, a cohesive set of imagery, and a curated collection of photos and writing.

I’m just going to share what I’m passionate about.  Today particularly I’ve got knitting on my mind, but I see painting coming in the near future.  Will you have patience with me?  Will you share what you’re passionate or mindful about??

IMG_6042

A winter finish – Fair Isle Poncho (and the desolate garden in the background. We spent the ENTIRE month of May getting that thing in order. Huge undertaking!).

 

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Knitting, New House, Uncategorized, What I Love and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mindfully Back at It

  1. That is so true and you really opened my eyes. I need to be more mindful of what I do as well. Knitting, sewing, crafting, baking/cooking, yard work, landscaping, painting and so on.

    • I know! I love to do so many things, and I still want to do them, but I need to do them because I’m passionate – not because someone is nagging me or because I feel I need to use up stuff!

  2. I am adapting the konmari system to my life. The concept that I have to love something or find joy is perfect for me. Though I find her a bit too ruthless for this collector. As long as everything in life brings you passion, then you keep things. If it doesn’t bring you joy or has outlived it’s purpose thank it and move it along. I like you will be moving craft things along. It will be hard but is a necessary for the sake of having too much stuff.

Leave a Reply

