Hello (again)

lionsdaughter

I have some excellent excuses:

+ We bought a house…like the “we’re going to stay here for 20 years” kind of house, so….

+ I’ve been painting nearly every room in the house.  Some 15 gallons of paint I purchased this summer.  The good news is that I’m almost done painting.  The bad news is that I’m not all that impressed with the brand of paint I chose.

+ I’ve been sorting, organizing, and giving away loads of stuff.  The hidden blessing in moving is that you’re kind of forced to go through stuff and give it away.  I’ve been pretty vigilant about following this rule: “if it’s not beautiful or functional, it’s gone.”  And it’s interesting how what worked in the last house doesn’t work in the new house…I’ve also made a little pact with myself to take stuff to the thrift store EVERY month so that I’m always processing what needs to be in my house.

+ I’ve been taking two online classes for a job I really hope to get.  Neither class is all that hard, but both simply take time that would normally be using to create. I just dropped off my resume and cover letter for the job, so here’s hoping.

All right, there are other excuses too, like planning a Sweet 16 birthday party for my oldest, which was a lot of fun.

Meanwhile, I bought some new yarn at a lovely, upscale yarn store in Madison, Wisconsin: The Knitting Tree.  Cashmere. And Silk.  It just happened; my impulsivity has significantly waned in the past few years, but what can I say–it still happens.

cashmere at lionsdaughter

I’ve got the tiniest bit of buyer’s remorse only because I have lots of yarn around here that I could be using, but I’m loving knitting with it, so my hands are happy.  The pattern is Dutch Cowl.

The silk, however, was a wee mistake.  I thought it was standard Noro wool, but it’s Silk Garden.  No worries, though.  It’s also lovely to work with.  I’m making a couple standard hats to sell in a local store.

Silk Garden - Lionsdaughter

I’ve made a little commitment to myself to blog once a week for a year, so you’ll be seeing me more often around here.

Have a Happy Monday!!

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Knitting, New House and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

