Time to start getting caught up

Ava-Slalom

So, this has been taking up lots of my time in the past six weeks.  I am lucky to live in an area where downhill skiing is reasonably priced.  My daughter joined the local team and has been having a grand time learning, skiing, and hanging out with new friends.  For parents, it’s a bit of a time commitment and a driving commitment as there’s not a team bus.  On the upside, this sport is really interesting to watch up close, and I’ve been known to plunk down in the snow on the side of a race and pull out my knitting.

Anyway, this picture has nothing to do with craftiness or finishing anything, except that I’m impressed at how far she’s progressed.  Eventually she’ll get better and thwack that blue pole gate with her body.

Gypsy Pinwheel

On a crafty front, I finished a quilt.  It’s my version of the popular Gypsy Wife Quilt I’ve been seeing online.  I’m calling mine Gypsy Pinwheels.  Here’s how this quilt happened:

March 2014 – I’ve never made pinwheels, so I gave it a try.  I pulled out purple from my stash and made a bunch hoping it would be an all-pinwheel quilt.

Gypsy Pinwheels

April 2014 – Nope.  Not even close.  So, I dug through the stash looking for fabrics that coordinated the purple pinwheels and came up with the bold floral that I can’t remember the name of.  By this time, the Gypsy Wife Quilt had caught my eye, and I liked the apparent randomness of it.

Gypsy Pinwheel

Summer 2014 – I struggled a little to bring new blocks to that diagonal purple line.  I worked across starting from the top and made my way down until the bottom line was flush with the pinwheels.  Because it end up just being a big square, I decided to add several more inches to function as a bed quilt.   I made bigger triangles, but didn’t pinwheel them.  I was hoping for more of an ombre look, but I also didn’t want to buy any more fabric, so I made it work.  I let my daughter (the one in the skiing photo) arrange the design.

Cotton Velvet quilt back

Right around this time, I rediscovered a cotton velvet duvet I had made several years ago.  I cut it down and declared the velvet would be the back.  Oh, deliciousness.  LOVE it!

I’ve said it before: I’m quilting almost exclusively to use up fabric I’ve amassed over the years.  Because I don’t plan on quilting even a few years from now, I’ve never bought a quilting pattern.  I much more prefer an improv quality when I work.  Don’t get me wrong – I am not advocating to stop purchasing patterns because I am highly impressed with the intricacy of many patterns and their makers – just not for my creative process.

In other news, I finally tracked down Theresa, the young girl for whom I made a quilt.  I posted about it here.  I called three different schools with no luck, then ran into an acquaintance who told me she had changed her last name and might be in a school nearby.  Finally, I had some solid info to go on.  I got a hold of the guidance counselor, a young helpful woman, and figured out when to drop it off.  I didn’t see Theresa the day I delivered it, but I am assured it the counselor gave it to her with good energy.  After all that though, I’m feeling like more needs to be done for these transient kids who move from district to district.  I don’t have any great ideas yet, but I’m going to give it a good think.  Feel free to share if you have any ideas.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

