January in Progress

Oh January, where have you gone?

This is normally my month to get it together.  Kids are back in school, my husband’s job gets busy (so he’s home later), and I start hammering at the projects.

But so far, I’m just making little bits of progress here and there.  It’s an ailment I’ve had before: I’m feeling a little overwhelmed by all the projects lingering.  I know I just need to get a few done before I start high-fiving my imaginary craft coach!

Here’s what’s happening:

Basketweave Blanket - Lionsdaughter

I’m making a blanket for my sister with super bulky yarn from (ahem!) Wal-mart.  I’ll be writing more about the yarn in an upcoming post, but I’ll give you a small hint that I’m loving this project.

Here’s an embroidery that I really wanted to make.  The colors are better in person.

She Believed

Lastly, I’ve got three hats on the verge of finished.  These are my movie theater hats – I make them when I go to the movies because it’s hard for me to just sit there.  So I knit round and round on a size 8 needle.  Easy Peasy.  And here’s an early hint that I might be putting hats on Etsy – hopefully sooner than later.

Signature Hats-Lionsdaughter

As I write this I’m watching The French Connection from 1971 and not entirely getting it, but I’m sort of intrigued by the differences in movie directing/production/acting.

And I’m listening to O, Pioneers by Willa Cather, and I like it!  I think it’s the homey pastoral vibe it’s giving of farm life even though some of the relationships presented are a little predictable and “normal” (why is that a bad thing?  It’s not, but it doesn’t always make for a fascinating story).

Reading/watching anything good????  Please share.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to January in Progress

  1. Kristen says:

    Great embroidery! I’m working on a couple of owl-patterned dishcloths right now. Well, I’m procrastinating on them, but it’s about the same, isn’t it? And my to-make pile is slowly shrinking. When it’s gone, I’ll let myself start another project. I think next on the list, after a couple of alterations, I have a pair of 70’s-patterned PJ’s from a vintage sheet with matching vintage buttons. And as far as good reading, I’m just working on a Mary Balogh (historical romance) but not sure if I’d recommend it. Maybe I’ll like the main characters more before it’s done? 🙂

Leave a Reply

