Hello 2015

Hello Readers,

I read recently about the top ten most annoying things people do on their blogs, and one of them is to apologize after being absent.  And I want to apologize, I really do, but I also don’t want to be annoying.

Instead I’m going to share a couple things I learned in my absence and how it’s going to affect my blogging.

1.  Embrace my home.  I read The Nesting Place this fall and MyQuillyn Smith, the author, shared how she stopped fretting over everything looking perfect and started making all her homes cozy and homey – as in, not waiting for that elusive “perfect” home (because few really are).

How that’s going to affect the blog:  Photos of my spaces as they (mostly) are, like this photo of sewing by the woodstove:

lionsdaughter blog

Okay, I moved the paper bag of garbage nearby, and now there’s a small pot of bean soup heating up on top of the stove…so there’s my (mostly).

2.  Appreciate the process.  When I first started this blog, I foolishly thought I would be posting only FINISHED projects.  And it was tremendously motivating for me TO finish projects, but the finish isn’t everything it’s cracked up to be (I intend to write a post on that one of these days).  Don’t get me wrong, finishing things is satisfying.

Anyhoo, I’m going to be posting a lot more process photos and posts because that’s where nearly all my time is spent – in the process.  Like this:

Gypsy Pinwheets

3.  Be a creator.  I’m currently reading (well, listening to) The Icarus Deception by Seth Godin, and he really hammers home the idea of being a creator – an artist – rather than a cog in the giant industrialist machine.  Don’t get me wrong…I’m not anti-capitalism, but I’m loving what he is saying about how and when to create.  For example he reminded me that writers like Dickens and Thackary just wrote, and there wasn’t the intensity of the edit as we know it (according to Godin, the editing craze started in the 1950s).

Thus I’m not going to labor over the writing in this blog anymore: I’m going to give myself an opportunity to check it over twice before publishing (not the 10-15 times I normally do because of my fear that some not-so-nice-person will say something like “tsk – and she’s an English teacher”).

I’m also going to start sharing the books I’m reading and listening to because that is a crucial part of my creating process.  Oh, how I love audio books!!

Thanks for being patient with me.  Tell me what you’re reading.  Tell me what influenced you recently.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hello 2015

  1. Kristen says:

    So great to see you posting! I didn’t know that apologizing for belated blogging was annoying, though. I’m going to have to stop doing that all the time. 🙂 Love the pics – so cozy and appealing. I’m not reading much lately, because I’m supposed to be writing, but I’ve been happily spending some hours on my sewing machine! I made my first quilt a couple of months ago–a patched together monstrosity of old (sometimes stained) receiving blankets. My three year-old adores it. Who needs perfect? 🙂

    • So great to realize it’s YOU – My swap partner! I haven’t done anything like what we did since (nor have I been on MJF forum much lately either).

      Congrats on the quilt – as long as it’s adored, that’s all that matters!

      And I plan on reading your novel sooner than later!

      • Kristen says:

        I miss MJF! So much going on, though, I had to let a few things slide. And no one will EVER give as great of a swap package as you. 🙂

  2. Great job not apologizing! I have to agree about that as a top annoyance for blogs. Everyone has a life and gets to live it without apologizing. 🙂

    Thanks for focusing on REAL and on PROCESS. I really mean to include process reports, but instead I tend to save it all up until something is done and then drag my readers through how I made decisions. That may well make the top 10 annoying list next time it comes out.

    As to reading/inspirations, I have recently found Austin Kleon. Scrolling through his website and blog, checking the hundreds of links he posts (look at his newsletters for link-rich material), pondering his poetry… I’m in awe of his output and insight. If you haven’t already, take a look.
    http://austinkleon.com/

    • Oooohhh, thanks for the suggestion about Austin Kleon. I’m always interested in new writers!

      And YES! Let’s celebrate the PROCESS. Saving it up means less to talk about. I wasn’t a process person at first, but now I’m all about it. The final product is good and important, but the idea and the making – that’s where the energy is!

Leave a Reply

