A Couple Scrap Quilts

I recently finished up the binding on a couple quilts almost entirely scrappy in nature.

Upcycled Log Cabins

The first is a log cabin using widths of cut up jeans and khakis – all worn at one time to my family.  The red in the middle is standard Kona quilting cotton.  I now wish I had upcycled an old cotton shirt instead of using “new” fabric for the centers because the whole quilt from front to back to binding is recycled fabric.

Upcycled Log Cabin

The back is an old flannel sheet.  Because the denim is so heavy, I decided not to use any batting.  The binding is leftover denim mostly as well.  However, it got so heavy that I had to improvise with a full fold-over binding that looks pretty cool except in the corners.

Upcycled Log Cabins

Lastly, the Wild West fabric is a throw back to my pre-motherhood days when I was thinking ahead to motherhood and thinking I’d have a son who loved cowboys.  Wrong.  I have a son who loves airplanes and sports.  I still like the fabric and will be using it in another scrappy quilt coming up.

Upcycled Log Cabins

This quilt is destined to be my “car” quilt – you know, the one that’s always available for both wrapping around oneself on a cold day or for laying out for an impromptu picnic or whatnot.

* * *

The second quilt has a story.

Theresa Quilt

There’s a young girl in my church being raised by a single grandma.  She’s since moved to another small town as her grandma looked for work and a place to live.  My interactions with Theresa and her grandma have been relatively small, but sometimes their situation weighs heavily on me.

I don’t want to get “religious” here (even though I do worship regularly), but I felt a strong calling to make Theresa a quilt.  No guilt.  No expectations.  No accountability.  Just a little tap on my creativity to do something for someone else.   I didn’t tell anyone.  I just started making it without a time frame.  No pressure.  Just do it.

Theresa Nameplate

Making it is going to prove the easy part.  Finding her address may be harder.  I know the town where they moved, but I don’t know where they live, and in this day of cell phones, finding an address is going to be hard unless I travel there and casually inquire at a local café or the city library.  The school would know her address, but they won’t give it out to anyone except the CIA or FBI (guessing there).  They might say they’ll deliver it, and I should trust them – small town communities are pretty good about honoring their word.

Stay tuned.  I’ll let you know when it’s delivered.  It will be a July project unto itself.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Hand-stitching, Handmade, Quilts, Repurposed, Sewing, Uncategorized, Upcycled and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Couple Scrap Quilts

  1. Kristen says:

    You are good people. (Gorgeous quilts, btw!)

Leave a Reply

