Tidying Up

“Use it up!” — That’s been my mantra on many, many things lately. Whether it be the bags of oat bran that are clogging my freezer (from an impetuous 50-lb purchase several years ago–don’t ask…) or the shampoo that no one really likes but is half way used. Of course, it’s also been applying to the BIG THREE: yarn, fabric, scrapbook supplies.

None of the Big Three are even close to being admirably compact in the space they take up, but all of them are so much better than they were a couple years ago. That, in itself, feels marvelous.

Lately I’ve been wrapping up the “small” projects lying about before I tackle a somewhat loathsome task of reworking my knitting duds.

Theresa's quilt

I finished the binding on a scrappy improve quilt.

Project bag

I made a little project bag for sock knitting.  I had to have this ribbon, and then I quickly grabbed a quarter yard of fabrics to coordinate.  This was my most recent impetuous purchase…some 8 weeks ago.  Let it be known that I’m trying to keep impulsive spending to small projects and (importantly) I’m making the project soon rather than let it linger in some plastic bin for years (talking about me – not you– even though I know, dear reader, that you must identify with me in some degree. But to each her own!).

Everdeen Beanie

Then there’s the Everdeen Beanie.  Knit with Blue Sky Alpaca Silk, it was heavenly to work.  The pattern was very easy once you got in to it; I just needed to pay attention to the end of the chart.  I think if I make it again, which I probably will, I’ll be sure to string in a lifeline on the last row of the chart before continuing on.

I wanted to get these finished because I’m going to tackle “The Duds.” Four sweaters knit without regard to swatches or measurements. Four disasters. Four money pits. Four frustrations. The dud parade starts tomorrow.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Hand-stitching, Handmade, Hats, Knitting, Quilting, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

