Socktastic

I’ve been knitting socks lately. I’ve mentioned it before that I never intended to knit socks when I began my knitting odyssey, but these days socks tend to fly around my magic loop. I think I’ve completed something like 14 pairs, which still astonishes me a little, but clearly I need to own up and announce that I like to knit socks.

McIntosh Boot Socks

I just finished the McIntosh Boot Socks by Jennifer Burke. These were a small challenge to make because the recommended Rowan is thicker than standard sock yarn. I also cast on in the prescribed size 3 and changed to size 4 when the pattern indicated, but those needle sizes were WAY too big for my calf. I knocked it down to a size 2 for the whole sock, and even that size is a little too big.

McIntosh Boot Socks

The caveat with these socks is that I can’t wear them on bare legs or else they’ll fall in a bundled heap around my ankles. This was so upsetting to me after knitting the first sock that I grumbled and cursed a little at the sheer time it took to knit the pattern and the expense of the Rowan yarn. I frogged them for a while, nearly set to unravel them. Then I somehow learned that they would stay up as long as they had another fiber to cling to, so aha! I could wear them with leggings.

McIntosh Boot Socks

Unfortunately, they are so thick that they only fit with one pair of boots, but it’s all good. At least I have these boots to show them off.

Lionsdaughter

Meanwhile I made my husband another pair of Skyp socks. I’m so happy that he loves handmade socks. I’m naming these the Porcupine Skyps because the colors remind me exactly of the colors of Michigan’s Porcupine Mountains in autumn (where we’ve started taking yearly treks in early October and staying in their yurts – deserves a whole post of its own – very good times and beautiful trails).

Porcupine Mountain Skyp socks

And I also just finished another pair of Basic Ribbed socks, which I swore would be my last pair of basic ribs, but then I opened the sock yarn stash to see a frogged project with, yep, basic ribs started. So, I’m working on those now and they will be the last pair of all-over ribbed socks. The story on these stripes, however, is purely a use-up project of yarns. The orange played a part in this project, and the pinks came from leftovers on this project (both basic ribs – surprise!)

Basic Ribs - Lionsdaughter

The stripes are differently sized in homage to my oldest daughter who only wears mismatched socks. And, as you can see, I ran out of yarn. Looking back I should have made the leg length a little shorter. I finished the toes off with some leftover blue from this project.

Lionsdaughter

It’s snowing here again (big, wet snow in bursts between rain), so I think today is a good day for the thickness of hand knit socks.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Knitting, Uncategorized, Yarn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Socktastic

  1. caityrosey says:

    We’ve got that snow here too. I love those purple socks with those boots. Great look.

Leave a Reply

