Knitting for Dystopia (or sorta like that)

I’m an absolute sucker whenever my kids ask me to knit them something. They can ask me in the rudest, most growly manner, and I’ll coo back, “of course, I’d love to knit you something.”

Even though there’s a wee rational part that says “they won’t wear it once they get it,” I make it anyway.  That wee rational part only triumphs when it comes to selecting the yarn. Okay, so I won’t make it the project in the gorgeous Rowan Big Wool that costs $16 for a 100g ball even though I would prefer it. One must be reasonable.

And thus I went with the Katniss Cowl my 14-year-old daughter requested.

Katniss Cowl

Made with Lion Brand Wool-Ease Thick and with new Rosewood needles in size 17, I knit in early January wondering all the while if I would end up with this half sweater, half cowl in my closet. Then I wondered if I could wear it since Katniss is a Young Adult icon, and I’m a 40-something mother whose “hipness” is up for considerable debate, always instigated by said 14-year-old daughter. All I know is that I definitely am not a Katniss wannabe.

My daughter did wear it out (into a crowd no less), and she did get compliments on it. But…she hasn’t worn it since. But I’m glad I made it. The pattern was nicely challenging, the yarn was much nicer to work with than I expected, and I predict the shape of this cowl will transcend the young adult genre (as The Hunger Games itself did).

In other news, I took up the Herringbone pattern in the cowl and made a super skinny cowl by casting on just 11 stitches. Made from gorgeously woven Plymouth Baby Alpaca Magna yarn, I stretched it out a little to make it wrap around my neck three times. I’ve worn this cowl more times than I can count, and it’s kept me warm even in the most brutal winter we’ve just had.

Skinny Herringbone Cowl

Skinny Herringbone Cowl

Meanwhile, my son recently asked me to make him a hat that resembles Yoda…you know, the green beanie with the donkey-like ears protruding. Erm, I’m hoping he conveniently forgets about it as summer draws near, but if he asks this fall, I’ll probably say yes.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Knitting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knitting for Dystopia (or sorta like that)

  1. caityrosey says:

    I like how the Katniss piece turned out. It’s a stunning look. I hope she wears it again.

Leave a Reply

