A Snow Day Bonanza

School released early…AGAIN…because of an April snow storm.

Snow Day

Happily it’s the first day after tax season, so it feels like a holiday on several levels to have my husband back in a “normal” capacity. The woodstove is blazing, the dog is barking like a maniac every time a snow plow goes by (erm, “maniac” is an understatement), video games are being played, Taylor Swift serenades from downstairs, and naps are in progress. It’s like one of those somewhat idyllic days, even though all of us are a little chagrined at MORE snow.

We dyed Easter Eggs.

Easter

I sewed a little. My youngest daughter has a somewhat odd fascination with giraffes at the moment, and she spied some luscious giraffe minkee fabric at Treadle Yard Goods in St. Paul a few weeks ago. I’m all about encouraging my children’s interests, so we bought enough to make a pillow and a cowl (she chose the orange coordinate color too). It’s good to finish up these easy projects.

Giraffe Pillow

Giraffe Cowl

I also finished the binding on a table runner for a swap over at Mary Jane’s Farmgirl Connection. It’s an Earth Day swap with a caveat that one makes something ONLY from things already in one’s possession. I had seen a YouTube video on how to quilt a table runner as you go, so I experimented with this project. I will definitely be making more of these; they are so easy and saved me big time on paying for outside quilting.

Scrappy Table Runner

Whatever your April 16 weather is, I hope you’re cozy!

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Quilting, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

