Madison. . . . love . . .

A few days ago I returned home from a solo trip to Madison, Wisconsin.  I went to my first ever Writers Conference, and I can not rave enough about how fabulous it was.  Everyone was so nice and willing to share their knowledge.  Of course, it was very cool that the capitol building was smack dab in the middle of my daily walks.

Madison, Wisconsin

I intended to stay with my former baby sitter who is all grown up now and working her first post-college job, but when she learned that the conference was right downtown, she suggested I stay at her sister’s condo, which is a ten-minute walk to the conference (cutting directly through the capitol grounds).  Her sister is snowbirding in San Diego for the winter, never mind that she’s not yet 30.  Said sister graciously offered her guest bedroom, so I not only had a view of the capitol, I had the place to myself, free parking, and an altogether lovely walk.  Oh, and I should add that Madison, though it be only four hours away from me, has no snow, so it was a glorious blast of spring for me.

I brought along a basket of four small knitting projects to do “in my downtime” while listening to speakers and relaxing in the evenings.  I was so caught up in the energy of the conference that I only knitted about an inch of a sock during the whole four days I was there.  I did, however, take the lovely CaityRosey’s advice and seek out The Sow’s Ear in nearby Verona.

The start of Color Affection

A coffee shop/yarn shop = love.  I’m a tiny bit embarrassed to say it’s the first combo shop as such that I’ve stepped into.  I’ve seen them all over the internet, but hadn’t been to one, so it was all good.  I knew I’d buy something, but it wasn’t until a very friendly clerk asked if I needed anything that I just blurted out that I needed yarn for the Color Affection shawl.  It’s been a project I’ve been wanting to knit, but the cast on date had been elusive.  I am guessing I won’t cast on until June when I’m planning a road trip to Washington DC, but now I have my yarn!

The last word?  It’s simple…I will definitely be going back next year for both the conference and the yarn shop.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Knitting, Uncategorized, Yarn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Madison. . . . love . . .

  1. caityrosey says:

    I’m so glad you had a good Writing Conference experience. And I’m glad you loved the Sow’s Ear. It’s an exceptional shop and I love the staff. Have fun with your Color Affection knitting. I just knitted my second Color Affection. It’s such a good pattern. I’m offering it in a charity drawing on my blog right now.

    • If I had known about your Color Affection charity piece, I would have gotten yarn for another project. Everyone raves about how comfy this shawl is!!

      • caityrosey says:

        It’s a wonderful shawl 🙂 And if you decide to participate, you’re helping the furry critters no matter what. And at the moment you would only have a 25% of chance of winning the shawl (although I hope more people will decide to join in). So if best comes to worst you’ll end up with two very different shawls 🙂

Leave a Reply

