The Not-so-special Blanket We All Love

I make a lot of things. Some of it is fabulous; a lot of it is ordinary. I’m not one of those crafters who needs to be on the cutting edge of what’s new in terms of books, patterns, technology, or notions. I’m also not one of those crafters who constantly needs the next challenge. Don’t get me wrong, I like a good challenge, but I also love knitting up a basic hat, sock, or washcloth.

Thus, the blanket I’m about to show you was never supposed to appear on this blog. It was never meant for greatness. It has nothing edgy, no amazing technique to showcase, not even the fabric is cool.

www.lionsdaughter.wordpress.com

www.lionsdaughter.wordpress.com

If you don’t already know this about me or if you haven’t already figured it out, In the past couple of years I’ve been exercising great restraint in yarn and fabric stores. Oh, I still shop in both stores, but I tend to get (much) smaller quantities than in the past. Great restraint means that I’m valiantly attempting to use up what I’ve been hoarding, collecting, stashing.

And this “not-so-special blanket” is exactly what I mean by using up flannel that I’ve had for some fifteen years. Floral flannel that once made a pair of pajama bottoms and was supposed to make another pair of pajama bottoms. Pink flannel that was supposed to make another baby blanket for my daughters (who are now 9 and 14).

www.lionsdaughter.wordpress.com

Instead I laid out the floral just as it was, then I laid out the length of leftover pink on top of it, and then I set about “filling in” the gaps by the only little bit of quilting on the blanket. Even there I tried not to think too hard about making it look lovely. The goal was to use it up!

I just tied it with some yarn. Then I set it near the television, and that’s when something sort of remarkable happened. My whole family fell in love with this not-so-special blanket. We tucked it over ourselves when we watched TV. We sat on it during the cold winter when we didn’t want to sit on bare floors. All of us have draped it over our shoulders as an extra cozy shawl-like blanket. My oldest daughter tried to make it her own by stashing it in her room.  It has even been taken on road trips.  And it’s my blanket of choice for a nap on the couch.

www.lionsdaughter.wordpress.com

So, there you go. Sometimes those ordinary hand-made items become really special. My little blanket deserves its own blog post. Do any of you have any projects like this? If yes, please share!!

 

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Quilting, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Not-so-special Blanket We All Love

  1. Such a pretty quilt. I can understand how it became so treasured.

Leave a Reply

