The State of Affairs

This winter has been frustrating. Frustrating because it’s so cold (-20 today) and the warmth of the woodstove beckons me like a lotus-flower of the ancient Greeks. I have not been to Yoga or Pilates in weeks; I have, however, been forcing myself to get outside a teeny tiny bit. The best excursion so far took us to the Ice Caves on Lake Superior. My daughter and I drove there last Tuesday and made a day of it.  Here’s a picture at a wonky angle as 14-year-olds like to be off kilter.

Ice Caves

It’s also been frustrating because I am trying valiantly to decrease wheat and sugar. It took a while to gather in all the supplies. It’s taking longer to convince my husband to stop bringing home bread, soda, and the occasional doughnut. And while I’m making moderate strides in changing how we put our menus together, I’m also constantly thinking about food – not the desire of it, but the composition of it.

Because decreasing or eliminating wheat and sugar means you pretty much have to MAKE 90% of your food, which isn’t so terrible except when there are 900 other tasks to be done or places to go. It’s coming together, but the frustration lies in the 1-step forward, 2-steps back progress I’ve been making. I’ve been reading a lot of Maria Mind Body Health to try to keep up with foods besides eggs, salads, and meat proteins. She’s hardcore, but her baking recipes are pretty good.

And lastly, I’m stuck in a time when projects just don’t seem to be coming together. I have about 12 that are almost finished, but I haven’t been enthusiastic about just wrapping them up. I blame Noyaux.

Noyaux

I played along with the Ravellenic Olympic games, but a couple of “penalties” i.e. “unraveling” stopped me from completing before the closing ceremonies. I unraveled once because the decreases on this project are a bitch. Sorry about the vulgarity there, but damn those decreases. I strayed from the instructions and eventually just did my own thing as per other knitters who gave suggestions on their own Noyaux projects.

The second time I unraveled was when I came to the realization that I wouldn’t ever wear this project as a dress. With the color, the pattern, and the weight of the yarn, I knew I had to turn it into a tunic, so I unraveled a large portion AGAIN.  The good news is that I’ve barely unraveled the front because I learned from knitting the back. I’ve been almost exclusively knitting this project, and it does feel good to be so close to the end, though admittedly there’s a small cloud of frustration because it’s keeping me from other projects to finish up as well.

Like these Skyp socks that are almost done.

Porcupine Skyp

And this hat that ran out of yarn – will be buying more this Saturday.

State of unfinished flowers - lionsdaughter

And this Poppy hat that turned out enormous and I’m going to try to felt.

Enormous Poppy

And then this – my Northern Lake quilt that needs to be quilted yet (I’m kinda in love with it).

Northern Lake

But it has a few weak sport that need some hand-stitched reinforcements:

Northern Lake

Hopefully one of these days I’ll have a post chock full of finished projects . . . because it’s a sure way to kick frustration to the curb (that and the weather will soon be in the balmy teens!).

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Hand-stitching, Handmade, Hats, Knitting, Quilts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The State of Affairs

  1. caityrosey says:

    No wheat and sugar does sound like a challenge with store bought food. Especially when you hit a busy week and just don’t have time to cook.

  2. Love your quilt. Great pattern and perfect fabric choice. The ice caves look amazing. Something worthwhile after all that cold weather you guys have had this winter.

Leave a Reply

