Noyaux and Olympics 2014

I have joined the Olympics. The knitting Ravellenics on Ravelry, that is. The intent is to challenge oneself with a pattern that might be beyond one’s abilities.

Okay, here is mine. Noyaux……a dress……egads.

Noyaux - Lionsdaughter

I’ve had the yarn for this for over a year. It was one of those highly impulsive and highly ambitious moments when I said “I will knit myself a dress!!”

The trouble is that I haven’t been so successful at having any (and I really mean ANY) garments besides hats and socks that fit. Sweaters are either too tight, too big, too short in the armhole, too high in the neck, and a serious of other unfortunate knitting failures.

So, why not make a dress?

I don’t rightly know. It fits the parameters of the challenge and I need to use the yarn.  That’s all.

Noyaux - Lionsdaughter

Noyaux is turning out to be an extremely easy pattern that flows once you get into it a little. The decreases are kicking my butt, and I’ve already unraveled once, but I’m going with the flow for now and getting my math on.

I like a good deadline. Let’s see where this baby takes me (and I’m already determined that I will NOT rip it out if it doesn’t fit. It will just have to find a home with someone else’s measurements should that happen).

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Knitting, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Noyaux and Olympics 2014

  1. I love your thinking about finding someone to fit the garment not the other way round. A gorgeous pattern and coloured wool.

Leave a Reply

