Simple Skyp Socks

A few weeks ago, I did a quick post about starting the Skyp socks.  I finished them a few days ago.
image

The pattern is Simple Skyp Socks by Adrienne Ku, and it’s a free pattern on Ravelry.  It’s fabulously easy with a wonderful variation to the old k2p2 rib I’ve been doing.  In fact, I doubt I’ll ever do a the basic rib again.

Here’s a closer shot of the rib skyp pattern:
image

image

I knit them in Malabrigo sock yarn, 100% merino in Tomato.  Love, love, love this yarn.  I’m nearly certain this yarn will become my go-to sock yarn after I work through my stash.  It’s just so wonderfully squishy and soft.  Seriously satisfies my tactile desires.

Meanwhile I grabbed a ball from my stash and started another pair of Skyp socks with some Trekking yarn, which is pretty good too. 
image

I’m not sure why I ever bought this yarn as  the colors are a little “muddy” for me. I think I must have had my husband in mind, but in the light, there’s a little more corally pink than I would think he’d prefer.  Anyway, I don’t love the colors as represented in the ball of yarn, but I’m kinda digging the way it’s knitting up (even though the grouchy 14-year-old says “ugly” every time I try to engage her). 

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Hand-stitching, Handmade, Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

