The BFF Ornament

My 9-year-old came home last week and announced that her best friend declared they would be secret Santas…with each other.  “I know, I know, we’re not supposed to know who our secret Santa is, but Miranda said we’ll just skip that part.”

All right.

So my daughter rounded up a candy cane, asked me to buy some lip gloss, and asked me to help think of something to make.

I suggested an ornament made from felt, and off she went, designing her gift.

image

image

I helped her keep the letters proportionate, but she did nearly all the stitching herself, and (my proud moment) she was able to rethread the needle by herself about half way through – praise God!! 

Another pround moment: just look at those delicate stitches of the “B.”  I only said once to take it slow and use smaller stitches.  I think she might be a natural….

Made from upcycled wool sweater felt and embroidery thread. Stuffed with cotton balls.  Love.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Hand-stitching, Handmade, Repurposed, Sewing, Upcycled and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

