Yarn Bombing the Library

I love the concept of yarn bombing.  To drop off a knitted piece in a public, unexpected way satisfies me in a happy-sort-of way.  Thus, I recently yarn bombed my local public library.

Lionsdaughter yarn bomb

This is my second yarn bomb.  The first was last year in Paris.  I promise it won’t be my last either!

lionsdaughter yarn bomb

There are only three statues in my little town.  There’s this bonafide sculpture at the library, there’s a sort-of generic statue of Jesus at the local Catholic church, and there’s an altogether generic statue of a gentleman cowboy in my grocery store.  If you’re wondering about the meaning or intention of the cowboy in the grocery store, you are not alone.  I don’t get it and wouldn’t have noticed him except that he’s yarn bomb-able!

Back to the sculpture at the library.  There are hands coming up from a little fountain on water toward a book overflowing with knowledge.  I’ve been wanting to make that hand a mitten for over a year.  I finished the first oversized mitten last year, but it didn’t fit.  Not even close.  So, I made a second gigantic mitten and finished it about a month ago.

lionsdaughter yarn bomb

Lionsdaughter yarn bomb

My kids at first thought it was a hat, and oh, you should have seen the wonky eyes they gave me as they plopped it on their heads — as if to tell me I’d lost my mind, making such a “hat.”  When I told them it looked a little Marge Simpson-ish,  they didn’t get the reference.

lionsdaughter yarn bomb

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
Image | This entry was posted in Clothing, Handmade, Knitting, Uncategorized, Yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

