Sister Socks

Auntie and Niece socks

I’ve been knitting socks lately. Mostly because socks knitting is so portable, thus making it easy to get in a few rows while waiting at the _______________ (fill in the blank – dentist’s office, school, ballet studio, etc.)

When a local yarn store was going out of business, I made the trip to support the owner who was venturing into retirement. And my “prize” for going was sock yarn at a discount! I bought the colorful yarn with specific thoughts of my then 8-year-old daughter.

Auntie and Niece socks The socks on the right show the yarn exactly as the skein played out. While I was starting on the second sock, my sister-in-law spied them and loved them. I had thoughts of adjusting the original pair to fit her instead of my daughter, but I had so much yarn leftover that I decided to improvise instead. Using a solid orange sock yarn in my stash, I created a striped effect that I love more than the original sock.

Auntie and Niece socks

The photos are of my daughter and her auntie, playing around and having a good time. Here they are demonstrating a loose version of ballet – that’s 5th position on the right – I think!

The pattern is just another basic 2×2 rib (again, keeping it simple and portable).

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Hand-stitching, Handmade, Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sister Socks

  1. Pingback: Socktastic | lionsdaughter

Leave a Reply

