Swimming Lessons

While my kids are learning their swimming strokes and how to dive more effectively, I knit.

image

I haven’t been posting much because a) my June had been a whirlwind of activities and chauffeuring, b) I haven’t been crafting because we’ve been working on minor home improvements, c) when I do craft, it’s finishing wintery projects that are so out of season, like this hat in progress:

image

This is my fourth hat this year using Mochi yarn with a solid wool.  I had original plans to make a striped hat and started it, but unraveled it to try this pattern instead. 

I’m not really following a pattern. I cast on 116 on a size 8 circular (16”) and knit the Mochi yarn while purling the solid color for an inch and a half.  Then I switched to a knit 3 in Mochi, knit one in solid, being careful to watch the start for the extra stitch that moves with the pattern.

I’ll explain the decreases in my next post. Until then, it’s slightly silly to be knitting wool in the humidity of the pool, but I have no cotton yarn projects on the docket. It’s all good.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Hats, Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

