Summer Bonnets

I’ve been making baby bonnets.  NOT for me, so don’t anyone go thinking this is some weird attempt to announce anything of that sort.  It all started when my sister had baby Brenna last spring.  And because last summer a woman in town dressed her baby girl in adorable modern bonnets.  So I made one, and then a few more, and I just finished 10 for this summer’s batch.

Teal Floral Bonnet

Yellow Bonnet

They are reversible, and incredibly easy to make minus switching out the threads to match the stay stitching.  The “ribbons” are the tiniest bit of a pain if I made my own – as in the photo above, but twill tape works marvelously if it matches.  And in even better news, they barely take any fabric to make – one fat quarter per side!

The pattern comes from the book Hat Shop by Susanne Woods.  It’s a great book with some excellent designs.

Here’s a little silly aside.  My nearly 9-year-old daughter has requested I make her a bonnet with minkee fabric on the inside.  So, um, okay.  Why not?

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
Image | This entry was posted in Clothing, Handmade, Hats, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Summer Bonnets

  1. Gorgeous bonnets. Nothing looks sweeter than a littlie in a pretty bonnet. 🙂

  2. Kristen says:

    Those are so cute! I’ve kind of thought about putting my littlest guy in one because I just love babies in bonnets, but I don’t think he’d appreciate it when he got older. 🙂

  3. mmmm gorgeous!! almost makes me want to have another babe – ummm – on second thought….

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

