Stitch and Bitch Craft Exchange

I regularly meet with three other knitters for some needed stitching time and typically more needed bitching time.  Politics, school board, in-laws, parenting: it’s a good time.

Yesterday we met for our annual gift exchange, which was supposed to be at Christmas, but finally happened yesterday at a non-stitching kind of place: the local ski hill.  Two of us got some stitching in while the other two skied happily together.  All good, no worries.  Snow will be going away soon, so it’s nice to get in the last our skiing (actually it’s supposed to rain tomorrow=bad snow for skiing).

Here’s the loot:

Only one person received a knitted gift!

Jilly Bean got pretty new coasters.

I got a birdhouse with the coolest opening ever.

My new birdhouse

I gave hand-quilted potholders.

potholders

Then, I had decided to make them each a table runner long before we had agreed to exchange names for Christmas.  By the hair of my chinny chin chin, I finished the brown runner the morning of the exchange.

Table runner

Warning: these are my first attempts at machine quilting, and I’m pretty sure straight lines are as venturesome as I’ll ever go on the current machine.

SIgned for DaniSigned for JillSigned runner

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Hand-stitching, Handmade, Knitting, Quilting, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stitch and Bitch Craft Exchange

  1. Kristen says:

    Wow, how beautiful – you’re so talented! Is a Michigander too far away to join your Stitch ‘n Bitch group? 🙂

    • How awful it’s taking me so long to reply…been busting my chops finishing my novel (Finished it – YAY!!!). In answer to your question, YES, I would LOVE to have you join our stitch and bitch – ALL mamas need a group like this!! Hope you are well….going to check out your blog now!

      • Kristen says:

        You finished a novel? Incredible! Congrats! And that’s so funny – my blog posts have been sparse lately because I’m finishing a novel! Synchronicity. lol

Leave a Reply

