Impusive Ambrosia

This was the last quilt I made in 2012 as I relaxed after Christmas by listening to Adriana’s Trigiani’s The Shoemaker’s Wife on audio book as I finished the binding.

Impulsive Ambrosia

I named this quilt “Impulsive Ambrosia” because the purchase of the fabric was – you guessed it – impulsive.  It’s a character flaw that I am diligently working at overcoming.

Title Plate

My excuse: In November 2011, the family and I were in St. Cloud, Minnesota.  While my husband was at a conference, the kids and I got “to play.”  And since there’s a super fabulous quilt store (Gruber’s Quilt Shop) literally across the street from our hotel, how could I not peruse and ogle and touch all the fabric (and yarn and wool felt)?

Then I saw a fabric design that looked so much like the one graphic designer I’ve always followed (even in the days before Facebook and Pinterest): Kathy Davis.  Oh, and it was in shade of pinks and greens – my favorite!  It was a Kathy Davis design, and she named the line Ambrosia.  Oh, I needed it!

Back then I was already working on my impulsivity, so I only bought a yard of the five coordinating fabrics.

When I got home, I pulled out solids in a creamy white, a bayou green, and a dark rosey pink and got to work.  There is no pattern to this quilt, and I used nearly every last inch of the fabric to make it.

Impulsive Ambrosia

A word about “Bayou Green” – I spent much time in 2012 searching for a solid to get a close match to the fabric I already had in my stash with no luck!!  It was extremely frustrating that in a variety of stores in several cities and online, this color was hard to find.  I had this problem trying to match the green in my Christmas quilt a few years ago too.  I’m learning that there’s something about green solids: from now on I’ll be buying a matching green on the spot.

In the end I backed in with a coordinating Kona sage green.  I bound the edges with a pink that I don’t love, but it will stay until someone else needs to repair it.

Backside of Impulsive Ambrosia

It’s machine quilted by the gals at Elly’s Sheared Sheep.

Someone thinks the quilt is for her.

Pippa and Impusive Ambrosia

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Hand-stitching, Handmade, Quilting, Quilts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Impusive Ambrosia

  1. Northern Narratives says:

    Awesome.

  2. I love your quilt . Such beautiful colours. Your dog reminds me of my own dog who would come and lie down on a quilt in progress ,the moment I put it on the ground.Maybe they are telling us that they want one for themselves.

    • You know, she sleeps on the floor next to my bed every night – she would probably like her own quilt to sleep on. Right now she thinks it’s great fun to interupt any folding of any quilt!!

Leave a Reply

