Knitted Giving and Receiving

This year I gave away two knitted gifts.

One for my new niece Brenna.

IMG_7880

I have a thing for monogram sweaters on kids, so this was one of those gifts I didn’t procrastinate on.  In fact, I think I finished it in early June.  Yarn is Berrocco Vintage, which is my go-to yarn for little ones.

Socks for my father-in-law

The other gift I made was for my father-in-law.  I would have liked the ankle length to be longer, but I was afraid I would run out of yarn.  Turns out I could have added an inch.  My father-in-law said he hadn’t gotten knitted socks from anyone since his own mother had made them for him (she passed in the early 90s).

I received two knitted gifts from my other sister.

Gifts from my sister

I really wanted November Knits by Kate Gagnon Osborn and Courtney Kelly.  I was immediately drawn to the Cobblestone Trench, though it will be a while before I tackle that project.

Cobblestone Trench

The other book was Literary Knits by Nikol Lohr, which I hadn’t seen.  There are some fabulous knits in here featuring some of my favorite literature characters.  I’ll probably start with the Edmund crown/hat – Edmund of Narnia fame.

Narnia Crown hat

The bummer is that it will be a while until I get to knitting from these books as I need to make serious headway on a few of the projects for which I’ve already purchased the yarn (about 3).

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Hats, Knitting, Uncategorized, Yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

