What I Love: Quilts

My new Friday ritual: I have a goal to photograph 101 things I love.

Quilts

I don’t know if it’s the artistry, the coziness, texture of the cotton or the quilting, or the marvelous textile designs that I love most.

I admire those quilters who take the time to match up corners and triangles so perfectly.  One day I will buy an extragantly pieced quilt, happy to pay too much for the designer’s labor.  My quilts, however, will likely never be very complicated as I don’t have patience for perfection.  My quilting motto is purely to use the stash of fabrics I’ve collected, buying only solids to cut the busy-ness of the prints I’m attacted to.

Here is my most recent quilt: a Christmas theme that had been languishing unfinished for a few years.

Christmas Quilt

It’s not entirely done as there were some wonky quilted lines that need to be resewn.  This is my first attempt at machine quilting on a 1952 sewing machine.  I don’t love either the results or the job of machine quilting, but I assume that the right machine would make a happier time of it.

This is the only quilt I’ve ever bought: a Sundance catalogue quilt that I love.

Sundance Quilt

I bought it probably ten years ago, and we use it only during the winter as it’s heavy and well made with lovely applique.

And this is the only quilt ever given to us: a Wedding gift from my husband’s grandmother.

Granny's Doves in the Window Quilt

It’s called Doves in a Window, and I love the intricacy of the pattern.  It’s hand made and quilted by hand by both of his grandparents, so it’s extra special to us.  She’s a spry, healthy 92-year-old widow now, and we’re driving three hours today to see her for the holidays.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Quilts, Sewing, Uncategorized, What I Love and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Love: Quilts

  1. Pingback: Impusive Ambrosia | lionsdaughter

Leave a Reply

