Landing Strips

Tomorrow I am going to give each of my three kids the quilts I made them over the course of the year.

I happy to show you my son’s quilt that I just finished binding last night: it’s called Landing Strips.

Landing Strips - lionsdaughter.wordpress.com

The consistent element of this quilt is the white strip down the middle of each block.  I tried to keep the width of the center strip the same, but it wasn’t always.  As for the other strips, I cut them different widths on purpose because I like the haphazard quality of Modern Quilts (though I honor those who are able to make this quilt with mitered corners!!).

I tried very hard to incorporate my son’s likes in this quilt, hence the blues and greens.  Also, the “basis” of this quilt was the fabric of vintage airplanes.  He’s totally into airplanes, particularly WWII planes, so it wasn’t hard to name this quilt “Landing Strips.”

Landing Strips - lionsdaughter.wordpress.com

I also included some raspberry fabrics.  I meant for there to only be little pockets of this fabric as I’m not a big fan of food-themed fabric, but I was running out of the other fabrics, so some longer strips got in there.  It’s okay though; he and I have bonded over our mutual love of raspberries, so I think he’ll both “get it” and appreciate it.

Landing Strips - lionsdaughter.wordpress.com

Lastly, I’ve been digging the concept of words in quilts, so I gave it a go with this one.  It’s a bit off center, but that’s fine by me.

Hopefully he’ll like it.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Quilting, Quilts, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Landing Strips

  1. cauchy09 says:

    oh, what a super sweet quilt! i love the scrappiness and the name on it. congrats!

Leave a Reply

