What I love: Jane Austen

A new Friday ritual: I have a personal goal to photograph 101 things I love.

Yep, I’m an Austen-ite, though perhaps not as obsessed as many other Austen fans. I don’t pine for Darcy, but I am quite opinionated that Colin Firth played him so much better than Matthew somebody or other.

I mostly refuse to read the alternative versions of Jane’s books – you know, the story told from Jane Fairfax’s point of view or those dastardly Zombie books. Only recently I listened to Shannon Hale’s Austenland on audio book, and I laughed a lot – really a lot.

So here’s my tribute to Jane:

lionsdaughter.wordpressShe’s the only author of whom I’ve read all her books.  I know those are movies above, but I couldn’t find the shot of the books.  And really the movies are very good.

lionsdaughter.wordpress

lionsdaughter.wordpress.com

From a crafty perspective, I have “secret” dreams of making a modern regency dress along with a spenser of some sort, but who know when that will happen!

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Ceramics, Uncategorized, What I Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I love: Jane Austen

  1. Didn’t Colin Firth play Mr. Darcy better than anyone else! I adore that version of Pride and Prejudice!
    Speaking of Pride and Prejudice, I noticed your a Janite (that historically is a more respectable notation for being a jane Austen fan rather than Austenite. That actually was a slur in the mid 1800’s). I happen to be working on novel that I will be posting once a week, a thousand words at a time, for an entire year. it is a continuation of Pride and Prejudice, a novel I have dubbed Duty and Honor. The worlds of the Bingly’s, the Darcy’s, and the Benet’s (of course) are turned on their heads. Pemanently? You’ll have to read along with everyone else!
    See more about my experiment at http://witchesatwar.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

