Socks

When I first started knitting, I started with baby berets, which were on size 3 knitting needles.  The shop owner of my LYS kindly said, “You’re making socks?”

To which I replied with a slight snort and firm, “no.”

I went on to say that I doubted I’d ever make socks.  That was five-ish years ago.

The thing is that I don’t LOVE making socks, but they’re not so bad.  The other thing is that my husband LOVES socks and of all my crafty endeavors that he puts up with, he truly appreciates hand-knit socks.  Treasures them, in fact.

I have a pair of knee-highs on the Magic Loop needles at the moment.  I was kind of dreading knee highs, but I’m totally digging this pattern: Vintage Knee Socks by Hannah Fettig (a Ravelry link).  Admittedly it’s my first pair of socks that aren’t ribbed, so it’s easy to dig it.

Last week I finished this pair.  These were supposed to be for a childhood mentor, but I didn’t do the Old Norweigan cast-on, so the top of the sock is tight.  I want to give her better made socks.  I’ll be starting a different pair soon enough.

In Cobbler pose (heading out to yoga after I post this).

And here’s a little DPN needle holder that I love.

I saw one of these at Darn Knit Anyway, and would have bought it there, but the fabric choice was not my style (a print of sushi, which I like to eat (vegetarian), but I tend to not like fabric that features food in any capacity).  I made my own DPN holder, and admittedly it’s not as nice as the one in the shop, but it serves it’s function.

Here are some photos if you want a closer look.  I didn’t use a pattern, but if anyone is interested in one, I can try to post a tutorial.

I know I’ll be making more socks.  I have yarn enough for at least three more pairs.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Knitting, Sewing, Yarn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Socks

  1. paulineos says:

    That little purse is lovely, I must copy it! What do you use the zipped pocket for?

  2. I love the case idea – I’m forever losing a stitch off the end do a needle when they aren’t in use. I forget to put the point protectors on the ends.

Leave a Reply

