Erm, Happy Belated Father’s Day??

I took a sock class last winter, and I picked up some wonderful Chocolate Malabrigo yarn with the best of intentions to make my husband a pair of socks for Valentine’s Day, which then turned to Father’s Day, which then turned to his birthday in July.

Obviously I didn’t make my deadline, but I’m thinking it’s all okay since the weather in my part of the world will gladly welcome an unexpected little gift of cozy merino socks.

This is only my second pair of socks, and they turned out better than the first pair, but this pair has an unusually large gusset, though I’m quite certain my husband will neither notice nor care about it.  In fact, he’ll probably say, “What’s a gusset” should I mention it.

I’m going to give them to him tonight.

The pattern is just a basic old ribbed sock pattern that you can find for free anywhere on the internet.  One of these days I’m going to make a patterned sock.  Meanwhile I’m in the process of making another pair that I started back in June with teeny tiny circular needles, which were a bugger to start, but all right once I was an inch or so into the sock.  However, I tried one on last night, and the cast on is just a wee bit snug, which is only a problem because I had thoughts of giving them to my mom.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Clothing, Handmade, Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

