Yarn Bombing the Palace

So….I’ve been on a vacation that I had been wanting to take for 20 some years.

Paris.

I meant to blog while there, but my electronics were giving me a little trouble, and between walking and walking and walking (seriously, that’s an understatement) all over Paris, I was exhausted. Let’s not even add discussion about jet lag.

Anyhoo, about two weeks before I left, I had a brilliant idea to yarn bomb a statue in Paris. Brilliant mostly because there are very few statues or sculptures in my small town or the neighboring small towns, and brilliant because Paris has sculptures all over the place.

I was intending to make a hat for some sculpture, but I soon realized what I was making was too big, and I was running out of time. I was about to unravel it and start a new hat with fewer stitches when my daughter sagely suggested I just turn it into a cowl, to which I applauded and thanked her.  It’s good when one’s 12-year-old is smarter than the mother.

But when it came time to actually do the yarn bomb itself, a shawl-like poncho-like garment seemed to best suit my statue.

In all our walking that week, I kept my eyes open for the right statue to yarn bomb, and it came down to this one or one of these women standing in Tuileries Garden:

I chose the shepherd for several reasons:

1. The yarn bomb would have seemed prudish on a statue at the Tuileries since it was a woman and the garment would have been covering her breasts.

2. The Tuileries Garden is full of tourists, transients, and hawkers of Eiffel Towers souvenirs. I didn’t think the garment would “stay” there for very long.

3. The shepherd statue is much older. This is one of two statues in the garden at the Palais Royale, a Palace built for the cousin of the king, and pretty much directly across the square from the “original” entrance of the Lourve (back when it too was a Palace).

4. The garden at the Palais Royale is like a “regular” garden. It’s not inundated with tourists; it’s more used by locals and it’s not crowded even on week-ends.

5. We stayed very nearby in one of the apartments that flank the Palais Royale, so for that short time, I pretended I was local and that the shepherd was a regular part of my life too.

I don’t know if he still has his shawl-poncho on, though I certainly didn’t see any other yarn bombs in Paris. But then again, I didn’t see a single yarn store there either. Maybe knitting isn’t chic enough in Paris yet??

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Knitting, Uncategorized, Yarn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Bombing the Palace

  1. Liesl says:

    How fun. I sure hope the poncho is still on—winter is coming. 😉

  2. Pingback: Yarn Bombing the Library | lionsdaughter

Leave a Reply

