Embroidery Sampler

I’ve been wanting to make an embroider sampler for a few months, but I’m just not in love with traditional samplers with the alphabet and some borders.  I have been LOVING Rebecca Ringquist’s samplers  for a    l o n g    time, but I never got around to ordering one.

Then I saw The Sweeter Lemon’s 30-Day Craft Challenge, and I immediately thought “that’s it!!”   She embroidered fun images in small squares for 30 days, but it wasn’t the craft challenge that appealed to me – it was the small squares.

So, I made a somewhat regular grid and declared that I would do a new stitch in each square, and I mostly did.  I also made it easy on myself and just did one square per day.

Here’s an incomplete list of the stitches (forgive me, but I’ve forgotten a few and I’ve failed at a few to boot):

First row: Chain stitch, Fly stitch, Satin stitch (we were in Macknaw Island, Michigan this day – hence the “M”), pistil stitch, ______ , Japanese Stem stitch

Second row: Russian Chain stitch, Tacked Herringbone, Running stitch, Bullion knot, Blanket stitch, __________

Third row: Encroaching Satin stitch, Woven Spider Wheel, Algerian Eye, Whipped Running stitch, French knot, Woven Circle

Fourth row: Heavy chain stitch, ________ , Herringbone Ladder, Fishbone stitch, Lazy Daisy, Woven Bar

Fifth row: __________, Pekingese knot, Pearl knot, Closed Fly stitch, _______, French knot (for the day I turned 40).

Sixth row: ________, Back stitch, German Knotted Blanket stitch, _______, Double Cross stitch

Midway through the project, my 12-year-old daughter admired it (yes, really!) and asked to have it.  I was admittedly a little started at her request, but I was honored.  She asked that it be made into a pillow, and this the end result:

I learned a heckuva lot more about embroidery on this project, and I absolutely need to give Sarah lots of praise for her excellent online embroidery tutorials.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Hand-stitching, Handmade, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

