A Quilt for the Youngest

I’m in the process of making each of my three kids a quilt.  In fact, I just finished all the blocks for the Middle child, and now need to sort how those squares fit together so I can get it to the quilter this week.

Meanwhile, last week I finished the binding on the quilt for my youngest, which is a fairly scrappy quilt using lots of fabric from dresses I’ve made in her in the last couple years (discussed here  in a past post).

These squares are really just a hodge podge of fabric in which I sew some coordinating fabric together, iron it, then cut a straight edge on any one of the sides to add another length of fabric.  This process continues on until there is enought fabric to cut out a 12×12 block.

While the bulk of the blocks are very free and flexible in nature, I did purposely frame every other block in pink…just to make the blocks themselves more distinct.

The back of this quilt is, well, amazing.  First off, I used to be a fabric hoarder and I’m making serious headway on using up stashed fabric, and this is a perfect example of that.  The middle back of this quilt is………..cotton velvet………..from my stash (suppressed squeal from me!!).

And it’s divine.  The gal who machine quilted this project wasn’t certain the velvet would work, but both she and I were thrilled that it did.  I love the texture, I love the way the thread embeds into the velvet, and I love the way the quilting plays out between the cotton and the velvet.

I still haven’t officially named this quilt yet, but I will soon because I’m taking the embroidery for the signature plate on an 8-hour flight next week….where in the world am I going?  Tune in because I hope to yarn bomb a statue when I’m there!!!

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Quilt Blocks, Quilts, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Quilt for the Youngest

  1. agujasblog says:

    It is absolutely beautiful.

Leave a Reply

