Eleven Years in the Making

Here’s one of the oldest projects in my crafty hastiness or impulsiveness.  Aside from some seriously languishing fireflies (in an old shoebox) from early in my marriage that are still not done, this cross stitch earns an impressive silver medal in the “Longest Running Project” category.

Preface: Out of college and working at my first professional jobs, I gave myself nearly entirely to my work.  I poured over lesson plans and graded papers with fervor because I took my job seriously.  Really seriously.

That meant I barely did any crafts for about three years.

Then I got pregnant, which was wonderful and wanted (and I was passive aggressively thankful that it meant I wouldn’t have to work full time).   As a nesting mama-to-be, I started sewing some baby blankets, I made a cross-stitch oriental vase for my own mother, and I started paying more attention to food ingredients and food quality – but that’s a different story for a different kind of blog.

Then I had the baby and I dove into scrapbooking.  Dove hard.  Scrapbooking was my art for several years.  I still like it, but with three kids and digital photography, it now overwhelms me a little (again, that’s a different story for a different day).

THEN, I got pregnant with child #2, and felt a strong urge to cross stitch again.  So I chose the August Quilt from a Year of Quilts cross stitch book that I already had.  August because the baby was due in August and also because I knew I would likely never make an actual quilt like the one featured.

Going into this project, I knew that the outlining stitching would be a bugger; this piece is definitely the most labor-intensive cross stitch I’ve ever done with all the leaves of the climbing roses.

It wasn’t until about five years after I started it that I began to chastise myself for not finishing it, but by then I had another child and was truly overwhelmed at trying to keep up with scrapbooking, my part-time job, a house, my kids’ schedule, etc.

Here’s the thing with cross-stitching.  I love it.  And of all my crafts, I most calms me down when I am needing some craft zen.  BUT it’s not portable, and there needs to be quiet and good lighting to finish it.  My kids interupt me all the time, so “quiet” during the day was hard to come by, and “good lighting” was hard to come by late at night when they were in bed.

Oh, I should add that I started knitting a few years ago, so that kind of overtook my life for a spell, seriously bumping cross stitch out of my personal craft sphere.

But I knew I had to finish this cross stitch because I was so close and because the baby that I started it for turned ten only a few days ago.  Ten!!!  Now he’s climbing rock walls, badgering me for military games on my new ipod, and dreaming about playing football and flying planes.

This cross stitch is for him ultimately, but it will be a long time before he officially receives it.  He knows it’s his, and he appreciates it, but right now, he doesn’t really care!!

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Cross stitch, Hand-stitching, Handmade and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eleven Years in the Making

  1. Ooh what a stunning design! At least you got there in the end with it!

Leave a Reply

