A Re-re-purposed Frame

A few years ago my neighbor pawned off one of her frogged items:

Originally it was supposed to be a clock:

I took it thinking I would use it to display be ceramic magnets that I was making back then.  But it became another languishing item in my garage for a couple years.

Then I went on vacation and found these:

They were part of a somewhat elaborate system of big metal words.  You could choose between “family, “grateful,” “blessed,” etc.   I was just about to buy the word piece, which also meant a wooden holder thing, and then I recalled my neighbor’s frame.

So a couple days ago, I let my youngest child spray paint it turquoise (and let me tell you, children feel wonderfully grown up getting the nod that it’s okay to use spray paint!).  Then I painted over the numbers from the frogged clock, but the one small problem was that there was a hole in the center of the metal from the clock workings, but I solved that with a button (buttons can solve many a problem!).

And Viola!  New fresh piece.

Happy Indeed!!

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Repurposed, Uncategorized, Upcycled and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

