By the Hair of my Chinny Chin Chin

The last day of July was yesterday, which meant that my Rusted Root sweater was “due” at Darn Knit Anyway in Stillwater, MN.  I finished it around 9am on the last day and then I packed up the kids and the puppy and headed over for a few hours.

After a disappointing start, I am happy to present you with the finished product:

The above picture cracks me up.  My smile is dumb.  My 12-year-old daughter is looking very fashionable in her new teal sunglasses, and my son is languishing behind me (you can only see his leg) while the newly minted 8-year-old takes the picture; hence my older daughter’s hand starting to reach out to stop, correct, or adjust the photographer.

So….here’s the deal with this sweater.  Overall, I’m happy with it.  I love that it fits marvelously in the bust and through the waist.  It is my best fit yet (packing myself on the back).

I don’t love how high the neckline is.  I wish it were at least an inch lower.  It might be okay this winter when I wear it with a long sleeve t-shirt underneath.  I may find I love the neckline on a 20 degree day.

In my attempt to fix the underarm length problem I had earlier, I ended up making the sleeve a little puffier than I intended, but my friend assures me that it has an 80s retro feel, so I’ll take that.  And the pictures aren’t really showing how puffy they feel to me, so maybe that’s a good thing: maybe I’m too critical of nothing>???

One last thing to say about this project: I LOVE LOVE LOVE Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece yarn, which is somewhat out of character for me because I typically haven’t loved knitting with cotton, but that 20% of Merino wool made for smooth knitting.  I will definitely make something with this yarn again.

So…my prize for finishing???  I bought myself Little Red in the City by Ysolda Teague.  I’m really kind of tired of buying knitting patterns, but I nearly certain I’m going to LOVE this book because it fully explains HOW to get a pattern to fit right.  Right-o.  Maybe if I have this book before Rusted Root, my neckline would be what I want.

And the Darn It Anyway sweater for November is Ysolda’s Chickadee, which I wasn’t planning on knitting, but since I have the pattern, perhaps I will….IF and only IF my November has some zen time allotted for a big project.

Meanwhile, some building projects are coming up sooner than later….

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Clothing, Handmade, Knitting, Uncategorized, Yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to By the Hair of my Chinny Chin Chin

  1. caityrosey says:

    I really like how that turned out. I agree that the neckline is a bit high and might feel odd to wear if you’re not used to it, but it does look good on you so I guess you don’t need to worry about that. I really like the puffed sleeves. Those seem to be a “thing” right now.

    • I should add that I haven’t blocked it yet either, so maybe I’ll try to stretch that neckline in the blocking. Thanks for your comments. Your blog looks like it right up my alley!! : )

Leave a Reply

