Trip Debriefing

From Michigan we just returned.  Gained some wisdom in the process.  Ready for it?

1.  Take children to one location only (no be-bopping from city to city).

2.  Children only consider it a vacation if there is swimming and water involved, and thus the complaining will decrease substantially.

Highlights from the road:

Me knitting aboard the SSBadger – a ferry that crosses Lake Michigan.  Very Cool.  Recommend it and will be doing it again (see point #2 in the gained wisdom business).

I am a State Capitol geek.  Got a great guided tour of Lansing and a sweaty case of vertigo from its rotunda (the only capitol to do that – must have something to do with the glass floor that looked bowl shaped from above.

When your child has an intense interest in something, you encourage it: Oshkosh Air Show.  Huge, Huge, Huge event…only bringing interested child along in the future (see point #1 in gained wisdom).

I loved the artistry of the rivets on the planes.  Yes, I know that’s a Russian plane.  No, there’s no underlying message from me posting it.  Just looking at the rivets.

I worked on three projects on the road:

My embroidery sampler – that “M” stands for our last name, Michigan, and Mackinaw Island, which we saw that day.  I’m still plugging away at the sampler and realizing there are a zillion stitches to learn.

I also worked on merit badges; these two are close to finished.

And then we came home to find our best cow, who is very late in the birthing process, had twins early this morning.  Here’s one of them.

And tomorrow is a big day at our house as we’re bringing home some joy (tune in tomorrow for that).

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

