Pillow Talk

I’m not so great at decorating my deck.  My sister is marvelous at decorating hers with chairs, candles, strings of lights, lushly potted plants.  She moved recently, but her last place was a haven as it was essentially a third-story open porch.  There were few mosquitos, and a person could sit out there for hours as the day slipped away.

Not so at my house where the pine trees tower overhead and drop their junk (needles, pinecones, pollen, etc) onto my wicker-like furniture.  Add to it that I live near a gloriously small, clear lake, but there’s a wee swamp between our house and the lake.  That equals mosquitos.  And all my romantic visions of evenings on the deck quickly fade.

So, I haven’t exactly put tons of effort into making the outdoor space amazing, but I am getting better.  Here are a few glimpses at the pillows I made USING UP fabrics I’ve had (if you’re wondering why that’s in caps, looks at yesterday’s post).

The above fabric is one of the really oldies in my stash.  It’s one of the first fat quarters I ever bought when I discovered Threadle Yard Goods in St. Paul.  Notice it’s distinctly early 90s design.  Anyway, none of these fabrics are waterproof or fadeproof, but that’s okay.  I’ve been doing a much better job this year of bringing the cushions and pillows in at night.  Oh, and I’ve also learned that my deck is best in the morning, so I’ve replaced my romantic visions of evenings on the deck to the actual action of taking lovely cups of tea in the morning, sipping it while reading an old magazine (sorting through those lately).

And the next pillow doesn’t belong on the deck at all, but rather it decorates my bed.  Last summer when an overwhelming need to embroider overcame me, this is what I started.  When it was time to put away the summer bedding, I also stopped sewing on this, but it came out again this March, and I blogged about its progress here and there.

I like pillows; I know I’ll be making more to work over some of my small scraps.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Hand-stitching, Handmade, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pillow Talk

  1. Knoob says:

    Aaah, love it! Your mornings on the deck sound idyllic. Really wish I lived in a house rather than a room.

  2. I LOVE your pillows! The fabrics are beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

