Babbling – Use it up

You know I’m doing this 30-day-blog challenge…..

The post I’ve wanted to write about for the past three days just isn’t coming together even when all the projects are complete.  I have no idea why I’m lollygagging about it because it’s not even all that amazing (but wait, maybe that’s why: it’s not amazing).

So, today I’m left with nothing to show again, and here I am within days of wrapping up this 30-day challenge only to fail.

And then I picked myself up by off my bed where I was giving my husband a critique of Magic Mike (in a nutshell: like an action movie that doesn’t know when to rein in the action), and I thought “the blog doesn’t need a picture every flippin’ day.  Today I will philosophize or rant or shout out or something.”

My philosophy du jour is to “use it up.”

Preface: My mother has several nice things in her house, and many of those things haven’t seen the light of day in years because she doesn’t want to use it up.  She wants to savor it and make it last.

Enter in the teen-age girl living in an era of 1980s consumerism which equals bringing home more and more stuff.  Taking my mother’s cue, I saved all that crap to make it last.

It took a while to start the departure from that way of thinking.

Then last autumn during a particularly difficult time in my life, I learned that I was buying fabric impulsively to satisfy my own little mini addiction.  And when I learned that, I was ruthless: USE IT UP.  I have been sewing bags, runners, quilts, and pillows with fabrics that have been hanging out in my stash for years.  No more.  My hope is to to keep only enough stashed fabric to store in a normal-sized cupboard, and I’m getting there.

Don’t get me wrong, I love textiles, yarn, quilts, and clothing.  I will still buy fabrics, and I will still be impulsive, but I think I have a handle on it now.   And it feels so much healthier.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

