The Betz Sling Bag

A while ago, I saw The Sidekick Sling Bag on display at Crafty Planet in Minneapolis.

My 12-year-old daughter wanted to make one (read that closely: she wanted to make it), and I liked the size and the cool scallops on top.  Strangely enough, she was hot to trot to get making the bag, and when a near-teenager wants to sew, it’s important to encourage her.

She did a pretty good job.  I helped with the stay stitching on the scallops, but she did most of it herself.  There is a big however though.  The pattern is a little hard to read.  It’s not the kind of pattern on tissue paper with instructions on both the tissue and the pattern.  Instead, it’s one of those “cut two squares 5 1/4 x 7  3/4” kinds of patterns.  So, of course we messed up, but not in a way that anyone would see as a failure.  Pretty much my only complaint is that you need to cut two pieces exactly alike for the main parts of the bag, which means that “traditional” fabric cutting where the like sides face each other will seriously compromise the pattern.

Anyhoo, here’s my version of the bag:

This Kaffe Fassett “Paisley Jungle” print rocks.  I’ll be adding some embellishments as I stumble upon them, but that’s it for now.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Betz Sling Bag

  1. I love these!!! 🙂

  2. I’m smitten with her bag & fabric choices – mmmmm! remember you said you’d teach ME how to make a simple bag – maybe a tutorial post for your blog????

Leave a Reply

