Knitting Library

The thing about daily blogging is that a person runs out of things to say, especially if one is entirely absorbed in a project that’s already been introduced on this blog (see yesterday).

So, in the spirit of staying with my 30-day-blogging challenge, here’s most of my library of knitting books with extra short reviews:

From top to bottom:

Classic Knits by Erika Knight…..truly, the patterns are classic.  Love this book.  Hoping to make a sweater from here this upcoming winter

Easy Kids Knits by Claire Montgomerie…nice sweaters that are kid classics

Great Knitted Gifts by Shackleton and Shackleton…one of my first purchases.  I still go back to this book for embellishment advice

The Knitter’s Year by Debbie Bliss…lots of good stuff, but equal parts patterns I find slightly silly.

Weekend Hats by MacDonald and LaBarre….my current drool book as there are a couple patterns calling my name.  Love to peruse this book for long periods.

The Natural Knitter by Barbara Albright … eye candy and excellent information about natural fibers with pictures of the animals and the fleeces in raw and processed stages.  I don’t love the patterns in this book, but I love all the fibers (makes me want to get angora bunnies and start spinning their fiber, which would not be a good thing at my present phase of life).

A Rainbow of Stitches by Agnes Delage-calvet, et al.  An embroidery book with some gorgeous designs and some too cutesy designs.  I love this book.

Closely Knit by Hannah Fettig…bought it for the pinwheel cushion pattern, but haven’t done it yet.

Colorwork Creations by Anderson-Freed….my younger sister gave this to me for Christmas a couple years ago.  She got the author to autograph it and address it to me.  Like it.

Knitting Lingerie Style by McGowan-Michael…bought it for the skirt and am hoping to get to it this winter, but I’ve made other things from this book.  I’ll have to get permission to show those pictures (gasp!).

Hot Knits by Melissa Leapman…one of my first knitting book purchases before I knew my style.  Interesting patterns, but it’s highly unlikely I’ll ever make one.

On a completely different note, I’m reading Edward Rutherford’s New York novel, so that’s where I’m heading: to bed to read historical geographical novel.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

