Rusted Root

A few days ago I bought some yarn at Darn. Knit. Anyway. in Stillwater, MN.  It’s a fun store in an old building.  The owner is younger than the average yarn shop owners in my neck of the woods, so I’m digging the hip atmosphere of the space.

Back in January I read the shop’s blog and discovered their 12 in 12 program; it’s a sweater-a-month program in which you sign up to make the designated sweater, get the yarn at a discount, and get $20 in store credit if you finish within the month.  LOVE the concept because a) there’s motivation to work it and finish it, 2) she’s chosen fresh designs, and c) because I’m totally an incentive gal (Probably be buying that Little Red in the City book with my $20 free bucks).

While I like many of the sweaters in the program, I chose July and October as potential contenders.  So here’s July: Rusted Root by Sarah Moore.

Photo credit: Darn. Knit. Anyway. via Sarah Moore

It’s a top down summery sweater made from Brown Sheep Cotton Fleece.  I bought the Cotton Fleece in Blue Paradise, swatched it yesterday, and started it today.

It’s my first attempt at a top-down sweater, and I’m kind of excited at the prospect of being able to fit it more carefully as a result.

I promise not to bore you with daily updates, but I really am hoping to be done in a few weeks.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Clothing, Handmade, Knitting, Yarn and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

