Valentine the Goat

Let me introduce Valentine, the goat.  Named so because she was born on Valentine’s Day a few years ago.

She’s not my goat.

But I rather like her.  She belongs to a friend who is on a mini vacation, so I am milking her on and off over the next four days.  I’m not a farm kid by nature, and I don’t typically go ga-ga over animals, but I find milking her by hand strangely satisfying.  Of course, it helps that my “payment” for helping is to keep the milk.

And I’ve learned to make a tasty goat’s milk ricotta that my kids will eat (super yay!)

I’ve also got plans for her milk that fall under the crafty banner, but I’m going to leave that a mystery for the moment.

By the way, you might think I have a “thing” for goats with the Cashmere post a few days ago and now this oddball post.  All I know is that I’ve liked all the goats I’ve ever met (except maybe those whack-a-doodle old goats who mutter and complain about new technology….get it?  Old goats???).  Maybe it’s time for bed.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Other and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Valentine the Goat

  1. Knoob says:

    Goats are ace.

Leave a Reply

