My First Quilt

Heading into the archives today…

This is my first “official” quilt.  Technically the first one was a 9-square patchwork concoction of blue flannels, oxford cloth, and a few cowboy prints thrown in (alert: cowboy prints will be part of an upcoming quilt too).  I tied it with yarn, turned the edges under, and made my then-boyfriend-now-husband a quilt for his dorm.  All things considered, the cowboy quilt is a little embarrassing, but we still love that thing for its warmth.

This, however, is the first quilt I made after a 20-year gap.

It started impulsively with a “Hunky Dory” Moda charm pack, then another, until I figured out finally that I would need nine total charm packs to get the size I needed.  Eventually I overanalyzed the process and bought additional Hunky Dory fabric for both the backing and the binding.

This is the first quilt I took to be machine quilted, and I was thrilled with the results.  It would have been great to have hand quilted it, but such a thought overwhelmed me.  And I knew it would languish for a long, long time if I hand quilted it.

I thought it would be a long time before I did another quilt, but I’m already on to quilts 5, 6, and 7 —- all in various stages of completion.  I find I rather like quilting now.

P.S. that’s my dog who passed too soon a year ago.  We still miss her. 

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Quilting, Quilts, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My First Quilt

  1. shut up! this is the most beautiful quilt EVER! I want to see the cowboy old quilt too – ha! You got skillz girl skillz!! I feel weird even typing that! xo

  2. You are FUNNY with your ZZZZZZ….thinking of you and NEED to get together soon!! Oh, and maybe one day I’ll get the old Cowboy quilt up…

Leave a Reply

