The Sharpie Quilt

It took me a while to name this quilt.  You see, it’s for my 12-year-old daughter based on a random bit of artwork she did for her dad last year.  Because I am now “uncool,” I knew the name had to be carefully chosen.

The Middle School Art Quilt

Art-for-Dad Quilt

5th Grade Mondrian Quilt (she doesn’t know who Mondrian is…)

The Art Quilt

You see, all my thoughts were lame, lame, lame.  So when I asked my husband to help me hold it up for pictures, I asked him what he thought I should name it.  His spur-of-the-moment pick: The Colorblind Test Quilt.  Um, no.

And that’s when I remembered the art was made with Sharpie markers, and name was born.

The good ladies at Elly’s Sheared Sheep did the machine quilting:

 Here’s the original artwork:

I think she’s on to me, but she’s keeping it under wraps if she truly does know.  It will be a while until she officially receives it as I need to finish her brother’s quilt so I can give each child his or her quilt at the same time.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Quilting, Quilts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Sharpie Quilt

  1. Knoob says:

    Wow. That is one heck of a quilt.

Leave a Reply

