Upcycling Blue

This morning I spent some time on an upcycling project.

Let me back-up.  I have a 9-year-old boy.  Do you know how hard boys are on their jeans?  I buy twice as many jeans for him as I do my girls, and not a single one can be handed down to his younger friend Ethan.  My son blows out the knees in   e-v-e-r-y   single pair he owns.  Wait, I take that back: he declared one pair of straight-leg jeans as being “skinny” jeans and he apparently abhors the look on the male gender.

And have I ever told you that my grandmother raised her kids through the great depression?  This impacted my youth because I got a lot of “you should save that to use it again later,” or “that’s perfectly good ______” (fill in the blank: food, fabric, wool, etc).  Grandma Violet didn’t really harp on me that much, but she did instill a distaste for waste.  Thus, I’ve been “saving” jeans with blown out knees.

And finally I’ve done a little something with them: my first ever log cabin quilt blocks.

The middle red was a leftover half yard of twill.  The khaki fabric is actually from worn out pants of mine and my husband.   This block features the only “brand” from the one pair that I bought my daughter, who also blew out the knees of these.

I’m making just 40 of these blocks.  For now I’m at a standstill as I’m out of the khaki flavor and will have to wait until someone in my family tosses out a pair.  That’s fine by me because I’ve been working at this:

This will become something pretty for the bedroom, and the embroidery is nearly done.  More on that coming in a few weeks (lots of paper grading will soon deter my crafty endeavors – boo).

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Embroidery, Hand-stitching, Quilt Blocks, Quilting, Upcycled and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

