Blue – Part Three – runners and potholders

There were only supposed to be three “blue” posts, but the “shiny” blue post has been delayed (though it’s my task for today, so hopefully not for long).

I’m on a quest to plow through fabric that I am been collecting, storing, hoarding for the past few years, and a lot of it is becoming quilted things like runners, potholders, and some bonafide (sorry – I’ve been watching O Brother, Where Art Thou?) quilts.

The runner below is for my sewing room.  It’s my first attempt at “modern” quilt blocks and it’s my very first attempt to machine quilt.  I, ahem, ran out of the turquoise blue binding with less than four inches to go, but it’s my signature to run short, so I embraced it.

Meanwhile, we live near a small house that is a rental.  In the ten years we’ve been at our location, the renters have been just that: renters.  Nice enough people, but neither we nor they have taken the initiative to be genuinely neighborly.  Until Carolyn.  She moved in about two years ago with her little dog Tucker, and she’s been wonderful, and kind, and helpful, and friendly.  She’ll be moving soon — into town — so I made potholders for her.

Don’t look too closely at the stitching; I am just getting the hang of machine quilting, so my stitches are a little inconsistant.  And I know there is a better way to do the binding, but I haven’t done my homework on that yet.   I’m okay with that.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Hand-stitching, Handmade, Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue – Part Three – runners and potholders

  1. Knoob says:

    I love your modern quilt blocks. Did you design them yourself or follow a pattern?

    • Definitely did not follow a pattern as quilt patterns make me crazy, but I can’t claim to have designed them either. It was really much more about sewing some fabric together, ironing it flat, and cutting a straight edge for the next piece of fabric. The random-ness was quite relaxing actually!!

Leave a Reply

