Blue: Part One

I’ve been waiting to debut this coat for a   l  o  n  g   time.

Here’s the history: I first saw it at Crafty Planet in Minneapolis, a store that ranks high in my favorite craft stores.  Theirs was green corduroy with an apple print on the inside.  I tried it on, adored it, and knew I would make it one day.

That day I bought the pattern: the Uptown Coat from My Favorite Things.  Showing incredible restraint, I did not purchase fabrics because it was spring and because I had 100s of other projects that I needed to finish before buying more stuff (blah blah blah…).

But come autumn, I confidently bought everything but the buttons, figuring buttons would magically appear.  They didn’t, and the good ladies at Threadle Yard goods advised me to make my own buttons, and I’m so glad I did because they were crazy easy and look fabulous.  However, somehow  I either lost one or stupidly didn’t buy enough (probably the latter), so it took some time to track down more button supplies: the perils of living in a small town hours away from the city.

Amy Butler Lining

Happily, this pattern in somewhat easy, and it came together well, except for the uneven hem.  My SIL recommended that I just curve the corners of the coat for an easy fix as it would also give continuity to the collar.  When I made the curve, it was a disaster with warbly lines, so I just shortened it up a little more and went back to a straight hem.

Uneven Hem

Uneven Hem

I plan on making more of these coats.  One for spring (maybe next year), one for my daughter for next winter after she picks out the fabric, and maybe one for a friend.  When I do make it again, I’ll probably choose a shinier lining, but otherwise, I love it.

Oh, and here’s picture of the day yesterday: I’ve got embroidery on my mind…

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Clothing, Handmade and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blue: Part One

  1. oh soooo pretty – well done girlie!

    The fabric colors and liner are so beautiful. You amaze me! xo

Leave a Reply

