Socks for the First Time

Last night I finished up my first pair of socks, and I don’t quite know how I feel about it.

Sounds silly?

Here’s the deal: First sock was a pain in the butt.  Big pain.  As in that heel gusset kicked MY butt.  Thankfully one of my fabulous knitterly gals from my can’t-miss-it “Stitch and B*tch” group got me moving on it.  And then I groaned about those itsy bitsy bamboo-skewer-type needles.  All this to say that the first sock took WAY too long.

Second sock: Done in three days.  What’s that?  This is why I’m not quite sure how I feel about socks.  The heel gusset did kick my butt AGAIN on the second sock; I had to unravel twice before I finally got the decreases in the right area.  But I kind of enjoyed knitting the second sock (except that I did notice that my shoulders would get all bunched up, and I had to tell myself to release them.  I think it was those tiny needles).

So, these first socks are incredibly basic compared to all the beautiful ones I see on other blogs, but you’ve got to celebrate even the baby steps!! Yarn is Dream in Color – can’t find the label for the colorway…

All right, all right. Yes, I will make socks again.  Only because several of the people I love appreciate socks and would love handknit socks.  I’m also putting perhaps too much stock in a Magic Loop sock class coming up on February 4. If it’s as “magic” as I’ve heard, there may be lots more socks in the future.  We’ll see, we’ll see.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Handmade, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Socks for the First Time

  1. Jill says:

    Those are GREAT! I love them… : )

  2. wanna hear something funny? I have the exact same wool socks….I seriously think it is the SAME yarn. Only i didn’t get my butt kicked to have them. na na na na na! you are soooo too good at all this kitting crafty stuff! 🙂 xo

  3. oh & I forget to mention – I think you could be a FOOT MODEL! LOL!

Leave a Reply

