Silence

Ooohh…it’s quiet here.  Lovely quiet.  First day of school.  I needed this.

The sewing machine of my husband’s grandmother is quiet too.  I just got the machines back from being serviced, and this vintage gal is smooth, with an engine that quietly purrs.

Somehow I inherited this beauty when husband’s Grandma Esther passed some fifteen years ago.  It’s been in storage all this time, and when my regular machine needed servicing, I decided to take this one in too.  Turns out it’s a 1950 model made in Scotland.  The drawers of the cabinet and such are largely untouched since Esther’s death, so I found some interesting things:

There was a lot of cross-stitch on gingham business tucked into the sewing cabinet’s chair.  Makes sense as her Esther’s daughter (Aunt Audrey) visited recently and said she didn’t think the machine had been used since 1972 or so.  I doubt I’ll be cross-stitching on gingham any time soon, though I will probably piece some of Esther’s sewing into upcoming quilts I plan to make for the kids.

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Hand-stitching, Sewing Accessories, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

