Greenware

My sewing machines are still being serviced, and while I’m chomping at the bit to get working on a fall coat, a tunic, a fairy costume, and that Mondrian quilt, I’m getting some hardware projects done instead.

I typically buy a block of clay every summer to play with because the kids love it and because there’s something very satisfying about the tactile quality of clay in one’s hands.  If you don’t know anything about clay, “Greenware” is when it’s dry but not but hasn’t gone to the kiln yet.  Here’s my recent greenware:

monogram pendants and buttons!!  The buttons are a new thing for me.

Here’s my son’s projects in “bisque” — meaning it’s been fired (note the color change) and now needs to be painted or glazed for finishing:

 Planes!  If he were here right now, he’d tell you it was some specific fighter plane loaded with numbers like P-51 or something like that.  I’m learning about planes via my child – love it when my kids teach me new things!!

Since I don’t have a kiln at my house, I have to wait until Tuesday to take the greenware into the shop, so today I’m working on this mosaic table:

My energy is soaring, so unless some mild catastrophe happens, I want to finish this table today (praying for no catastrophe!!).

About lionsdaughter

I like to make things, lots of things, but not all things. I love to sew, knit, embroider, take pictures, scrapbook, dye fibers, work clay in the summer, garden. I want to try weaving, spinning, and stain glass work. I have no interest in auto body, upholstery, or tanning (either working animal skin or purposefully darkening my own).
This entry was posted in Other and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

